Facebook Spam: What to Do if you Clicked


There has been so much spam on Facebook lately

It may be a post on your Wall from a friend you know that says something like:

“haha you gotta see this…” [link]

Or it will be an IM from a friend with a message and link that sounds urgent or sensational. Like the one my friend sent that claimed to have Bin Laden video. It just didn’t sound like him, so I Imed back asking, did you mean to send this to me. He said no. It was spam. Always respond and verify before you click if you have doubts.

If you get links on your wall that seem suspicious, go to their profile and see if in “recent activity” it shows they have been posting a link on many people’s Walls. Click to see if it’s the same message (but don’t click on the spam link or you’ll pass it to your friends next!). Send your friend a message alerting them so they can stop the cycle.

Here’s how:

PRSarahEvans writes:
If your account has been taken over and used to send spam
, you should follow these steps immediately:

  • Reset your Facebook password. You can do this by clicking the “Forgot your password?” link on the login page or by going to the Account Settings page once logged in.
  • If you can’t reset your password because the email address you use to log in has changed, or if your account has been disabled, visit our help page.
  • Make sure you have up-to-date security software on your computer, run a scan, and remove any malicious files. If you don’t do this, and your computer is infected, your account may be taken over again. If you don’t yet have protection for your computer, you can download a complimentary six-month subscription of McAfee security software. Learn more on the Software tab.

You can find even more information on how to stay safe on the Threats and Tips tabs as well as in Facebook’s Help Center.

Google has free security software that you can install and run.

If you get this or a virus of any kind, you may need to go back to a previous version of your computer and do “system restore” which is not difficult but is different depending on your operating system. Just use Google to learn how for your computer (i.e. “system restore for Windows 7”).  You will lose any new installs you did since that date, but you’ll also lose the virus. Then change the password to your computer.

I did a system restore when I had an email scam that I couldn’t get rid of on Gmail. It emailed a bunch of my friends with just a link. They clicked, they got it infected. I finally got rid of it. I hope the same for you!


One Response
  1. Jordan Foutz May 13, 2011

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.